0 0 0
Feature Friday- Get to Know Donnie Early, PT, MPT of Sauk Valley Physical Therapy

This week we are happy to feature Donnie Early, PT, MPT our clinic director and staff therapist of Sauk Valley Physical Therapy.  We sat down this week with Donnie to learn a little more about him. 

Tell everyone a little bit about yourself.

I reside in Grand Detour, Illinois with my wife, Annette and two beautiful children, Brenna and Callen.  I am originally from White Hall, Illinois. A small farming community located in Central Illinois.  Whenever my schedule allows it, I enjoy getting back home to help out on the family farm as much as possible. 

I am a graduate of Maryville University in St. Louis, Missouri where I received both my Bachelor of Health Science and Masters of Physical Therapy degrees.

What made you decide to become a physical therapist?

When I was 16 years old, I was in a very bad car accident and had to learn to walk again.  After being in rehabilitation for 6 months, I realized that this is something that I wanted to pursue as a career after high school.  I love being around people and helping them out, so it seemed like a natural fit for me.

What do you like to do for fun?

I enjoy spending time with my two children and my wife.  When I am able, I like go back home and spend time with my parents, sisters and nephews.  I also enjoy hunting, the outdoors and all sports.

What is the best part of your job as a physical therapist?  What is the most difficult part?

I enjoy my interactions with my patients and helping them get back to a previous level of function.  It is very rewarding to me to return my patients back to performing the activities that they did not think they would ever get to do again; without limitations and/or pain.  

The worst part is most definitely the paperwork.

What is something that people are surprised to learn about you?

Most people who meet me for the first time do not realize that I am blind and deaf on my right side from the car accident I was in. 

What is your biggest pet peeve?

I have a few pet peeves.  The biggest one is being on time.  My last name is Early...so I try to always be early everywhere I go.  After getting married and having children I find this is harder and harder to do!

If you could take 2 weeks off from all of your responsibilities, where would you go and what would you do?

I would go home and spend time with my mother who is fighting a battle with ALS.  I do not live near my parents anymore so it is hard to get away from a busy life with work and kids. 

If you are interested in becoming a patient of Donnie's or Sauk Valley Physical Therapy's, contact the clinic directly at 815-548-9444.